University of Alabama University of Alaska, Fairbanks University of Arizona Arizona State University University of Arkansas at Little Rock Auburn University Baylor University Boise State University Boston College Boston University Brown University California Institute of Technology California State University, East Bay California State Polytechnic Univ, Pomona University of California, Berkeley University of California, Davis University of California, Los Angeles University of California, Riverside University of California, San Diego University of California, Santa Barbara University of California, Santa Cruz Carnegie Institution of Washington Central Washington University University of Colorado, Boulder Colorado School of Mines Columbia University University of Connecticut Cornell University University of Delaware Duke University Florida International University University of Florida University of Georgia Georgia Institute of Technology Harvard University University of Hawaii at Manoa University of Houston Idaho State University IGPP/Lawrence Livermore Nat. Laboratory IGPP/Los Alamos Nat. Laboratory University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign Indiana University Indiana Univ/Purdue Univ, Fort Wayne James Madison University Kansas State University University of Kansas University of Kentucky Lamar University Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory Lehiah University Louisiana State University Macalester College University of Maryland Massachusetts Institute of Technology University of Memphis University of Miami Miami University, Ohio University of Michigan Michigan State University Michigan Technological University University of Minnesota University of Missouri at Columbia University of Missouri at Rolla Montana Tech of the Univ. of Montana University of Nevada, Las Vegas University of Nevada, Reno New Mexico Inst. of Mining & Technology New Mexico State University University of New Orleans State Univ. of New York at Binghamton State Univ. of New York at Stony Brook North Carolina State University Univ. of North Carolina, Chapel Hill Northern Illinois University Northwestern University Oklahoma State University The University of Oklahoma University of Oregon Oregon State University Pennsylvania State University University of Puerto Rico, Mayagüez Princeton University Purdue University Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute Rice University University of Rochester Rutgers, State Univ. of New Jersey Saint Louis University San Diego State University San Jose State University University of South Carolina University of Southern California Southern Methodist University Stanford University Syracuse University University of Tennessee Texas A&M University University of Texas at Arlington University of Texas at Austin University of Texas at Dallas University of Texas at El Paso Texas Tech University University of Tulsa University of Utah Virginia Polytechnic Institute University of Washington Washington University, St. Louis West Virginia University University of Wisconsin, Madison University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee University of Wisconsin, Oshkosh Western Washington University Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution Wright State University University of Wyoming Yale University

November 5, 2013



Dear IRIS Member Representative

There are lots of exciting activities to review at the IRIS Membership Meeting this year. We will celebrate the initiation of a new five-year Cooperative Agreement with NSF, report on the status of the search for a new President and elect a new Chair to lead the Board of Directors as well as new Board members. In spite of very tight financial times, NSF's commitment to five years of support provides a solid foundation for sustaining our core programs and moving the Transportable Array to Alaska. Other smaller awards expand IRIS involvement with ocean sciences and EarthCube, and sustain collaboration with educational and international partners. The IRIS programs and the services the Consortium provides remain strong.

The active participation of all Member Institutions is essential to the Consortium's health. One of the most important ways in which you, as a Member Representative, can influence the future of IRIS is through your thoughtful participation in the election of members to the Board of Directors. I strongly encourage you to take this responsibility seriously.

After careful deliberations, the Nominations Committee appointed by the Board has approached a carefully selected group of talented individuals, as listed on the enclosed ballot, to confirm their willingness to serve as your representatives in Consortium leadership.

This year I complete my three-year term as Board Chair and the nominating committee has identified Anne Meltzer for a new 3-year term as Board Chair. This opens a two-year term on the Board to replace Anne. Gabi Laske has agreed to run for this term. Matt Fouch has announced that he will be leaving Carnegie Institution and thus needs to resign from the Board with one-year left on his term. Kate Miller, who has had previous Board experience, has agreed to run for this position. The remaining slate presented by the Nominations Committee includes four excellent candidates from IRIS Member Institutions to fill the additional two open three-year slots on the Board.

Please visit the IRIS website to review the statements from all the excellent candidates and vote for the candidates you feel will bring the most effective and balanced leadership to the IRIS Board. *I urge you to use the mail-in ballot, as this will streamline the election process. Please return the ballot with the signed proxy to IRIS by December 2, 2013.* 

Please join me in thanking the other retiring Board members – Paul Davis, Matt Fouch, and Jeroen Tromp, - for their outstanding service. They have helped guide IRIS through the development and successful review of our 5-year proposal and refocused our governance structure. Along with all of our committee members, they have contributed a significant amount of their time to ensure the success of IRIS.

Your participation and advice are critical as IRIS continues to develop new and exciting approaches to support your research and educational needs.

Sincerely,

Brian Stump V Chair, IRIS Board of Directors