University of Alabama University of Alaska, Fairbanks University of Arizona Arizona State University University of Arkansas at Little Rock Auburn University Baylor University Boise State University Boston College Brown University California Institute of Technology California State University, East Bay California State Polytechnic Univ. Pomona University of California, Davis University of California, Los Angeles University of California, Riverside University of California, San Diego University of California, Santa Barbara University of California, Santa Cruz Carnegie Institution of Washington Central Washington University University of Colorado, Boulder Colorado School of Mines Columbia University University of Connecticut Cornell University University of Delaware Duke University Florida International University University of Florida Georgia Institute of Technology Harvard University University of Hawaii at Manoa University of Houston IGPP/Lawrence Livermore Nat. Laboratory IGPP/Los Alamos Nat. Laboratory University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign Indiana University Indiana Univ/Purdue Univ, Fort Wayne James Madison University Kansas State University University of Kansas University of Kentucky Lamar University Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory Lehigh University Louisiana State University Macalester College University of Maryland Massachusetts Institute of Technology University of Memphis University of Miami Miami University, Ohio University of Michigan Michigan State University Michigan Technological University University of Minnesota University of Missouri at Columbia University of Missouri at Rolla Montana Tech of the Univ. of Montana University of Nevada, Las Vegas University of Nevada, Reno New Mexico Inst. of Mining & Technology New Mexico State University University of New Orleans State Univ. of New York at Binghamton State Univ. of New York at Stony Brook North Carolina State University Univ. of North Carolina, Chapel Hill Northern Illinois University Northwestern University Oklahoma State University The University of Oklahoma University of Oregon Oregon State University Pennsylvania State University University of Puerto Rico, Mayagüez Princeton University Purdue University Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute University of Rochester Rutgers, State Univ. of New Jersey Saint Louis University San Diego State University San Jose State University University of South Carolina University of Southern California Southern Methodist University Stanford University Syracuse University University of Tennessee Texas A&M University University of Texas at Arlington University of Texas at Austin University of Texas at Dallas University of Texas at El Paso Texas Tech University University of Tulsa University of Utah Virginia Polytechnic Institute University of Washington Washington University, St. Louis West Virginia University University of Wisconsin, Madison University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee University of Wisconsin, Oshkosh Western Washington University Wright State University University of Wyoming

June 7, 2013



To: IRIS staff and partners:

After twenty-two years as IRIS president, the time has come for me to step aside, and for the Consortium to seek new leadership.

Over the past year, the IRIS Board of Directors and I have worked closely together to develop a plan for this transition and for the selection of a new president. At the start of these discussions, I made a commitment to work through the submission, review and initiation of the Consortium's 2013-18 proposal for *Seismological Facilities for the Advancement of Geosciences and EarthScope*. The proposal has now gone through rigorous external and internal review by NSF and was unanimously approved by the National Science Board in May. At the IRIS Board meeting last week, NSF announced that, even with the serious fiscal constraints under which the federal government is operating, they intend to support a substantial part of the activities described in our proposal. Over the next few months I will work with NSF, the Board and IRIS staff to develop a new five-year Cooperative Agreement between NSF and IRIS to support the initiation of the ambitious plans described in the proposal.

At the same time, the Board will move forward with the presidential search, and I am prepared to remain in place for as long as it takes to find a successor and ensure a smooth transition. We anticipate that this will extend at least into early 2014.

This January, the Board appointed a transition team, led by Anne Meltzer, which has worked with me and the rest of the Board to establish a process and timeline for transition. With this public announcement, they will now begin to engage with IRIS staff and the community to seek your guidance and advice. While the selection of a new president is of critical importance, this change also provides an exciting opportunity to review and reinvigorate the Consortium's vision for the future. Next week, you will hear from Brian Stump, Chair of the IRIS Board, about ways in which the Board wishes to work with you to define that vision and receive your input.

I have found my service as IRIS President to be extremely stimulating and gratifying. It has been a thrill to see the Consortium and its facilities grow and evolve. With strong community leadership and the deep talents of the IRIS staff, the Consortium will continue to thrive. I am confident that the position of IRIS President will be attractive to strong and capable candidates.

I look forward to working with all of you to ensure that the transition is smooth and effective, so that IRIS can continue as a strong, capable and responsive organization to serve the seismology community.

With thanks,

D. W. Simpson, President