University of Alabama University of Alaska, Fairbanks University of Arizona Arizona State University University of Arkansas at Little Rock Baylor University Boise State University Boston College Boston University Brown University California Institute of Technology California State University, East Bay University of California, Berkeley University of California, Davis University of California, Los Angeles University of California, Riverside University of California, San Diego University of California, Santa Barbara University of California, Santa Cruz Carnegie Institution of Washington Central Washington University University of Colorado, Boulde Colorado School of Mines Columbia University University of Connecticut Cornell University University of Delaware Duke University Florida International University University of Florida University of Georgia Georgia Institute of Technology Harvard University University of Hawaii at Manoa University of Houston Idaho State University IGPP/Lawrence Livermore Nat, Laboratory IGPP/Los Alamos Nat. Laboratory University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign Indiana University Indiana Univ/Purdue Univ, Fort Wayne James Madison University Kansas State University University of Kansas University of Kentucky Lamar University Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory Lehigh University
Louisiana State University Macalester College University of Maryland Massachusetts Institute of Technology University of Memphis University of Miami Miami University, Ohio University of Michigan Michigan State University Michigan Technological University University of Minnesota University of Missouri at Columbia University of Missouri at Rolla Montana Tech of the Univ. of Montana University of Nevada, Las Vegas University of Nevada, Reno New Mexico Inst. of Mining & Technology New Mexico State University University of New Orleans State Univ. of New York at Binghamton State Univ. of New York at Stony Brook North Carolina State University Univ. of North Carolina, Chapel Hill Northern Illinois University Northwestern University Oklahoma State University The University of Oklahoma University of Oregon Pennsylvania State University University of Puerto Rico, Mayagüez Princeton University Purdue University Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute Rice University University of Rochester Rutgers, State Univ. of New Jersey Saint Louis University San Diego State University San Jose State University University of South Carolina University of Southern California Southern Methodist University Stanford University Syracuse University University of Tennessee Texas A&M University University of Texas at Arlington University of Texas at Austin University of Texas at Dallas University of Texas at El Paso Texas Tech University University of Tulsa University of Utah /irginia Polytechnic Institute University of Washington Washington University, St. Louis West Virginia University University of Wisconsin, Madison University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee University of Wisconsin, Oshkosh Western Washington University
Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution Wright State University

University of Wyoming Yale University June 10, 2013



To: IRIS Consortium Member Representatives IRIS Staff and Partners

On behalf of the IRIS Board of Directors, I would like to follow up on David Simpson's announcement of his plan to retire as IRIS President in 2014. In his normally thoughtful and IRIS- and community-centric way, David has provided for the orderly transition in leadership of both the facility and Consortium. This change comes at a time when we are in an excellent position to move forward into the new five-year Cooperative Agreement with the NSF, as well as develop longer range plans to address the outstanding science opportunities that are emerging from IRIS members and the broader Earth Sciences community.

David and the Board have discussed and planned this transition over the past year. This time has allowed the development of plan that will engage the community in finding and attracting a new President for the Consortium. It will be important to identify the unique person who will lead IRIS during the new five-year Cooperative Agreement with NSF and be fully engaged in planning for the future. The new President will be critical to interacting with both the seismological and broader Earth Sciences community as the science vision for the coming years is developed.

A Transition Committee, consisting of Board members Anne Meltzer (Chair), Jeroen Tromp, Matt Fouch and Jeroen Ritsema, was established early in the year to initiate planning and implementation of the search. They and the Board have developed a transition calendar that is designed to complete the search for a new President in the first half of 2014. Important steps in the process will include a careful description of the qualifications and attributes we seek in a new president, and the appointment of a Search Committee later this summer. Linked to the transition, the Board is initiating a review of the Consortium's vision for the future, starting with a Board retreat later this week. We encourage broad engagement of the IRIS community and beyond during the full transition process. Every IRIS member organization as well as our fine staff will have opportunities for input to this process. The Board and I welcome your comments and suggestions. As the transition proceeds, we will continue to provide information on the process and provide more specific ways to receive your advice.

I close with the observation that the Consortium is strong. In many ways this can be directly linked to David's engaging leadership since 1991. There will be ample time to congratulate and celebrate David's leadership in the coming months. I would encourage each and every one of you to engage David individually in appreciation of his strong leadership and unwavering dedication. The close association of the facilities and Consortium has been central to his leadership and I am thankful for this vision, which provides a firm foundation for the opportunities that lie ahead in the coming years.

Best Regards,

Brian Stump, Chair, IRIS Board of Directors
Dedman College - Huffington Department of Earth Sciences
Southern Methodist University