IRIS Board of Directors Appoints a Nominations Committee for 2014 Elections

Elections for important positions on the IRIS Board of Directors will be held during the Annual IRIS Membership Meeting in San Francisco on Monday evening, December 15, 2014. This year, elections will be held for:

3 three-year positions

  • Vice Chair
  • 2 Directors

All Member Representatives are encouraged to contact the Nominations Committee to provide suggestions for candidates for these open positions.

The Board-appointed Nominations Committee consists of one Board member and four community members:

          Emily Brodsky (Chair)
          University of California, Santa Cruz

          Jeroen Tromp (past Chair)
          Princeton University

          Jim Gaherty
          Columbia University

          Samantha Hansen
          University of Alabama

          John Vidale
          University of Washington

The Directors whose terms expires this year are:

          Emily Brodsky
          Kate Miller
          Jeroen Ritsema

As described in the elections procedures of the By Laws, the Nominations Committee "shall prepare a slate of one or more nominees for each Director position to be filled." Prior to the Annual IRIS Membership Meeting on Monday, December 15 (during the Fall AGU Meeting), you will be informed of the candidates and provided with details on the voting procedures.

Continuing Directors are:

          Geoff Abers (2015)
          Gabi Laske (2015)
          Michael Wysession (2015)
          Anne Meltzer, Chair (2016)
          Beatrice Magnani (2016)
          Jeff McGuire (2016)

A list of current IRIS Committee Members can be found at

Thank you for your continued involvement in the activities of your Consortium.