IRIS Board of Directors Appoints a Nominations Committee for 2017 Elections

Elections for important positions on the IRIS Board of Directors will be held during the Annual IRIS Membership Meeting in New Orleans on Monday evening, December 11, 2017. This year, elections will be held for one (1) Vice Chair and two (2) Director positions, each with a term of three years.

All Member Representatives are encouraged to contact the Nominations Committee to provide suggestions for candidates for these open positions. NOTE: Potential candidates for these Board positions must be sent to the Nomination Committee by Monday, October 2.

The Board-appointed Nominations Committee consists of one current Board member and three community members:

          Miaki Ishii (Chair)
          Harvard University

          Beatrice Magnani (Past Chair)
          Southern Methodist University

          Brian Stump
          Southern Methodist University

          Carl Tape
          University of Alaska Fairbanks

    The Directors whose terms expires this year are:   

          Geoff Abers
          Miaki Ishii
          Andy Nyblade

As described in the elections procedures of the By Laws, the Nominations Committee "shall prepare a slate of one or more nominees for each Director position to be filled." Prior to the Annual IRIS Membership Meeting on Monday, December 11 (during the Fall AGU Meeting), Member Representatives will be informed of the candidates and provided with details on the voting procedures.

Continuing Directors are:

          Doug Weins, Chair (2019)
          Karen Fischer (2018)
          Keith Koper (2018)
          Michael West (2018)
          Donna Shillington (2019)
          Zhigang Peng (2019)

A list of current IRIS committees and their members can be found at

Thank you for your continued involvement in the activities of your Consortium.