IRIS Board of Directors Appoints a Nominations Committee for 2018 Elections

Elections for important positions on the IRIS Board of Directors will be held during the Annual IRIS Membership Meeting in Washington, DC, on Monday evening, December 10, 2018. This year, elections will be held for three (3) Director positions, each with a term of three years.

All Member Representatives are encouraged to contact the Nominations Committee to provide suggestions, including self-nominations, for candidates for these open positions. NOTE: Potential candidates for these Board positions must be sent to the Nomination Committee by Friday, September 28.

The Board-appointed Nominations Committee consists of one current Board member and two community members:

          Karen Fischer (Chair)
          Brown University

          Miaki Ishii
Harvard University

          Fan-Chi Lin
          University of Utah

The Directors whose terms expires this year are:   

          Karen Fischer
          Keith Koper
          Mike West

As described in the elections procedures of the By Laws, the Nominations Committee "shall prepare a slate of one or more nominees for each Director position to be filled." Ballots with a list of candidates and details on the voting procedure will be sent to all Members Representatives no later than Friday, November 16. Results of the election will be announced during the Fall AGU Meeting, following the Annual IRIS Membership Meeting on December 10.

Continuing Directors are:

          Doug Weins, Chair (2019)
          Clifford Thurber, Vice Chair (2020)
          Samantha Hansen (2020)
          Vera Schulte-Pelkum (2020)
          Donna Shillington (2019)
          Zhigang Peng (2019)

A list of current IRIS committees and their members can be found at

Thank you for your continued involvement in the activities of your Consortium.