IRIS Congratulates Seismology Community Members Awarded AGU Honors

The IRIS Board of Directors, on behalf of the entire IRIS community, wishes to recognize and congratulate a number of IRIS community members who have been selected as American Geophysical Union (AGU) honorees this year. We are delighted to note that many of these honorees are very active users of both the data and instruments that IRIS manages on behalf of the National Science Foundation. In addition, nearly all of these honorees have served and/or are currently serving in various roles in the IRIS governance structure – which is at the heart of the IRIS community and consortium. The careers of all of these scientists epitomize outstanding research and community service.

Susan Beck, University of Arizona, has won the Walter H. Bucher medal, given in recognition of original contributions to the basic knowledge of crust and lithosphere. Susan has been strongly involved in IRIS for many years, including as the Chair of the IRIS Board of Directors during 2008-2010.

Brandon Schmandt, University of New Mexico, has won the James B. Macelwane medal. The Macelwane medal is given to early career scientists in recognition of their significant contributions to Earth and space science. Brandon currently serves on the IRIS Board of Directors.

Peter Shearer, University of California, San Diego/Scripps Institution of Oceanography, has won the Inge Lehmann medal, in recognition of outstanding contributions to the understanding of the structure, composition, and dynamics of the Earth’s mantle and core. Peter has served on the IRIS Executive Committee (predecessor to today’s Board of Directors).

Doug Toomey, University of Oregon, and Ramon Arrowsmith, Arizona State University, have each won the Paul G. Silver Award for Outstanding Scientific Service. Doug has recently served IRIS on both its Data Management and Ocean Bottom Seismograph committees. Ramon has served both the seismology and geodesy communities in many ways, particularly as head of the EarthScope National office during 2011-2015.

The 2020 class of AGU Fellows includes members of the seismology community who are recognized for their exceptional contributions in Earth and space sciences:

  • Rachel Abercrombie, Boston University
  • Jean-Paul Ampuero, Institut de Recherche pour le Développement and Université Côte d’Azur
  • Larry D. Brown, Cornell University
  • Nadia Lapusta, California Institute of Technology
  • Cathryn A. Manduca, Carleton College
  • Hrvoje Tkalčić, Australian National University

The AGU Seismology Section awards include:

  • Malcolm Sambridge, Australian National University, who will be delivering the Beno Gutenberg Lecture
  • Weisen Shen, Stony Brook University, has won the Keiiti Aki Young Scientist Award

Please join us in congratulating each of these scientists and community members for their well-deserved honors.

On behalf of the IRIS Board of Directors:
Rick Aster (Chair), Charles Ammon, Jackie Caplan-Auerbach, Samantha Hansen, Sarah Kruse, Brandon Schmandt, Vera Schulte-Pelkum, Susan Schwartz, Cliff Thurber