IRIS Congratulates Seismology Community Members Awarded AGU Honors

The IRIS President and IRIS Board of Directors, on behalf of the entire IRIS community, wishes to recognize and congratulate a number of IRIS community members who have been selected as American Geophysical Union (AGU) honorees this year. We are delighted to note that some of these honorees are users of the SAGE Facility that IRIS manages on behalf of the National Science Foundation. The careers of all of these scientists epitomize outstanding research and community service.

Rick Aster, Colorado State University, was selected as a member of the 2021 class of AGU Fellows. Rick currently serves as the Chair of the IRIS Board of Directors and has actively participated in IRIS governance as a member and/or chair of nearly every Standing and Advisory Committee for more than 20 years.

The 2021 class of AGU Fellows also includes other members of the seismology community who are recognized for their exceptional contributions in Earth and space sciences:

  • Andrew J. Michael, USGS Earthquake Science Center
  • Peter van Keken, Carnegie Institution for Science
  • David Wald, USGS National Earthquake Information Center

Jean-Paul Montagner, Institut de Physique du Globe de Paris (IPGP), has won the Inge Lehmann medal, in recognition of outstanding contributions to the understanding of the structure, composition, and dynamics of the Earth’s mantle and core. 

Rick Allmendinger, Cornell University, has won the Paul G. Silver Award for Outstanding Scientific Service in recognition of significant contributions to the fields of geodesy, seismology, or tectonophysics including mentorship of early-career scientists, leadership on community research initiatives, or other collaborative research efforts.

The AGU Seismology Section awards include:

  • Greg Beroza, Stanford University, who will be delivering the Beno Gutenberg Lecture
  • Yihe Huang, University of Michigan, has won the Keiiti Aki Young Scientist Award

Please join us in congratulating each of these scientists and community members for their well-deserved honors.

Robert Woodward, IRIS President
On behalf of the IRIS community and the IRIS Board of Directors