IRIS Presidential Search

In August, IRIS President Robert Detrick and Board Chair Doug Wiens announced the Fall start of a process to search for a new President for IRIS.

The President of IRIS represents the passion of its member seismologists and has the opportunity to make a transformational impact on Earth science research and education. We seek an energetic, creative, visionary individual to provide leadership at IRIS to continue to explore new fields and push new limits in seismological and Earth science research.

To find out more about this exciting opportunity please see a more in-depth position description which may be found at:

Requests for additional information should be directed to Professor Charles J. Ammon, Chair, IRIS President Search Committee,

Application and Nomination Process
Applications should include a full vita; a statement describing the applicant’s vision for IRIS for the immediate term and for the period beyond the 2023 expiration of the current SAGE2 cooperative agreement; a statement addressing past and/or potential contributions to enhance diversity, equity, and inclusion; and the names and contact information of three references. Applications and nominations will be accepted until a new President is selected. For optimal consideration, interested parties are encouraged to apply by 15 December 2019 at the address below.

Presidential Search Committee c/o IRIS
1200 New York Avenue, NW
Suite 400
Washington, DC 20005

Search Committee (appointed by the IRIS Board of Directors)

  • Charles J. Ammon (Committee Chair)
  • Rick Aster
  • Jeffrey Freymueller
  • Samantha Hansen
  • Thorne Lay
  • Vera Schulte-Pelkum
  • Chad Trabant

We welcome suggestions and recommendations about this position. Please feel free to contact members of the Search Committee or IRIS Human Resources,