Nominations Sought for IRIS Board of Directors

Elections for important positions on the IRIS Board of Directors will be held this fall. This year, elections will be held for three Director positions, each with a term of three years.

Nominations (including self nominations) for these open positions are encouraged and should be sent to a member of the Nominations Committee by Tuesday, September 15. We strongly encourage nominations that will expand the diversity and/or the disciplinary breadth of the IRIS Board.

The Board-appointed Nominations Committee consists of one current Board member and three community members:

          Clifford Thurber, (Chair)
          University of Wisconsin, Madison

          Doug Wiens (Past Chair)
          Washington University, St. Louis

          Heather Ford
          University of California, Riverside

          Maureen Long
          Yale University

The Directors whose terms expire this year are:   

          Samantha Hansen
          Vera Schulte-Pelkum
          Cliff Thurber (Vice Chair)

As described in the elections procedures of the IRIS By Laws, the Nominations Committee "shall prepare a slate of one or more nominees for each Director position to be filled." Ballots with a list of candidates and details on the voting procedure will be sent to all Members Representatives in early November. Results of the election will be announced during the virtual IRIS Membership Meeting in early December.

Continuing Directors are:

          Charles Ammon (2021)
          Rick Aster, Chair (2022)
          Jackie Caplan-Auerbach (2023)
          Sarah Kruse (2023)
          Brandon Schmandt (2023)
          Susan Schwartz (2021)

A list of current IRIS committees and their members can be found at

Thank you for your continued involvement in the activities of your Consortium.

Rick Aster, Chair, IRIS Board of Directors
Bob Woodward, President, IRIS