IRIS Announces 2020 Slate of Candidates for Board of Directors

Elections this year will be held for Board Vice Chair (term of one year) and three Director positions (each with a term of three years).  After careful deliberations, the Nominations Committee appointed by the Board has put forward a slate of seven talented individuals from IRIS Member Institutions who are willing to serve as your representatives in Consortium leadership.

One candidate to fill the position of Vice Chair (running unopposed for a one-year term):

    Charles J. Ammon, The Pennsylvania State University      

Six candidates to fill three Director positions for three-year terms:

     Kerry Key, Lamont Doherty Earth Observatory, Columbia University
     Phil Wannamaker, University of Utah
     Victor Tsai, Brown University
     Alan Levander, Rice University
     Cynthia Ebinger, Tulane University
     Lara Wagner, Carnegie Institution for Science

Information about the candidates and the upcoming Annual Meeting of the IRIS Consortium is available at:

Continuing Board Members:
     Rick Aster (Chair), 2022
     Jackie Caplan-Auerbach, 2023
     Sarah Kruse, 2023
     Brandon Schmandt, 2023
     Susan Schwartz, 2021

The Member Representative for each IRIS Member Institution is encouraged to vote in this important election. Please visit the IRIS Board of Directors Election website to review statements from all of the nominees and vote for the candidates who you feel will bring the most effective and balanced leadership to the IRIS Board.

Your Vote Counts!

This year we will conduct direct voting via the ElectionBuddy app, so casting your ballot will be easier than ever. Voting begins on Tuesday, November 17 and ends at midnight ET, Sunday, November 29. 

Mark Your Calendars . . .

The 2020 Annual IRIS Membership Meeting will be virtual on Monday, November 30, 2020 from 3:00 - 5:00 pm ET. Register now to attend this important event!